Dine Out 2014: Market by Jean-Georges (Shang-ri La Hotel)

Let me just start off by saying I’ve been wanting to go to this place for over a year now…actually, ever since I found out about it at Aberdeen Center during the Lunar New Year event back in 2012. Unfortunately, I find it quite sad to say that I didn’t enjoy it as much as I would have liked to.

But, let’s be positive and talk about what I did like. I absolutely adored the interior design and decor. Market by Jean-Georges has a very sophisticated and uplifting atmosphere. The greeter was very friendly and pleasant, which made me even more excited as I entered the restaurant.

Price: $38
Type: Three course meal
Neighborhood: Downtown Vancouver

Now for the part you’ve been waiting for; food!

Seared Gulf Shrimp, Butternut Squash, Ginger and BasilSeared Gulf Shrimp, Butternut Squash, Ginger and Basil

Rating: 3/5

I loved the size and texture of the shrimp though; they were firm, fresh, and big. The pumpkin seeds and basil were an absolute delight to compliment the dish. Unfortunately, I found the shrimp to be very salty, which really took the natural shrimp flavors away. I couldn’t taste any ginger either.

I’d recommend trying the tomato soup, as my friends said it was really good and flavorful.

Slowly Cooked Steelhead Brussels sprouts, Truffle Mash PotatoesSlowly Cooked Steelhead Brussels Sprouts, Truffle Mash Potatoes

Rating: 5/5

I have to admit that I didn’t expect anything special of the dish when I ordered, and I am glad I was so wrong. The salmon was perfect. It was fresh, flavorful, and moist. The fresh ground pepper and sauce did wonders to the dish. The truffle mashed potatoes were soft and fluffy, and again, eaten along with the sauce tasted fantastic. I’m not too fond of Brussels sprouts but they tasted great with the dish. If anything, I would have liked for the dish to be warmer, but other than that, everything else about this dish was great.

And now I’m salivating from just thinking about it all over again.

Cheesecake Lemon Cream, Blueberry SorbetCheesecake Lemon Cream, Blueberry Sorbet

3.5/5

Yum, I liked the cheesecake. The waffle piece didn’t do much for me, although I appreciate the play with textures. The blueberry sorbet didn’t taste much like blueberry, but regardless, it was a very refreshing element to have along with the cheesecake. The acidity of the sorbet and berry compote helped the cheesecake go down easier as well.

It was pretty evident that the cheesecakes are previously frozen, sadly. The cheesecake melts extremely quick, so if you want to sit back and savor your dessert, good luck.

So overall, the food was decent. Only the entree stood out for me, but I can’t complain too much…yet, because now the real complaints begin.

Photo: Market by Jean-Georges

Unfortunately (and I’m pretty sad to say), service was on the other end of the spectrum for me. Our server was a cheerful Indian lady, and quite friendly I suppose. Except when it came to actually serving us, she always seemed extremely rushed and intrusive. For example, my friends and I were taking photos, and she’d just say, “Sorry!” and stick her pitcher in to pour us water while we were doing so. Seriously? If she did it once, fine, I can understand it, but she did the same thing three/four times throughout our dinner service.

One thing that really got on my nerves is she refilled two out of the four glasses of waters at our table, walked to another table, filled up their waters, and then came back around to fill up the last two glasses at our table. Why? Because the other table was right next to her and was closer to her. That is honestly the rudest thing I’ve ever seen. Like is it really that hard to finish our whole table first before moving to another table? It was a pretty ridiculous sight if you ask me…especially since this is considered “fine dining”. Not to also mention, one of the servers dropped my butter knife (with butter on it) on my scarf.

As much as I find the setting visually appealing and comfortable to be in, and the food being moderately good, the service just doesn’t do it for me. I’d expect more for the price I’m paying, and I’m paying for the full experience. But I’m glad I got to try out MARKET during Dine Out, nonetheless. It would suck a lot if I had to pay $70 for dinner service with this kind of experience.

Market by Jean-Georges on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

