Restaurant Review: Mandalay Lounge & Steakhouse

I went to Mandalay Lounge and Steakhouse a few months ago for dinner to celebrate my birthday, with a few close friends.

Mandalay is located in Steveston in the city of Richmond. You can imagine how beautiful the view surrounding the restaurant is, especially on a gorgeous day like this one.

20130502_193334
View, outside of the restaurant entrance

20130502_193750
View from our table, inside the restaurant

The service was great. We were greeted by some lovely staff just as my friend and I entered the restaurant. While waiting for the other party members to arrive, the servers provided us with some water. We had two female servers, whom were very cheerful, sincere, and pleasant to have around. They were also very attentive and checked on us a couple times during dinner to see if we needed anything else.

The ambiance of the restaurant was great that night. It was peaceful and moderately quiet. The lighting and water views were absolutely astounding, and they probably still are. Tables are spaced appropriately so there’s room to move as well as talk amongst yourselves without bothering others. There weren’t too many customers around the (Thursday) night we went, so it was perfect.

To start off the wonderful night, we ordered some drinks.

20130502_195208

I completely forgot what this drink was called, but I do remember it being as delicious as it looked. I really wish I could share the drink name, but I can’t seem to find it on their online menu either…I’ll update as soon as I find out.

20130502_195730More drinks!

We also ordered a couple starters to share between the four of us. Let’s just say these were more filling than we had anticipated.

20130502_200749
Butter Chicken Poutine – $16

20130502_200808Our pomme frites smothered with our home made butter chicken
topped with cheese curds and crispy fried shallots.”

This is a MUST-try. The fries are lightly crisped and salted, topped with a heapful of butter chicken. The chicken was so tender and full of flavor and the amount of sauce was just right. I could not get enough of this. I’m salivating just from looking at the photos…

20130502_200754
Calamari – $13

“Tender battered deep fried squid accented with a
five spice seasoning. Chipotle aioli dip.”

The calamari was okay. The dish was smaller than I had expected. The calamari wasn’t as crispy as I would have liked for it to be, but the amount of seasoning put in was just right, and the Chipotle aioli dip was quite good. Despite these two things, the calamari could have been better.

Overall, the starters were delightful to have. +1 that they arrived shortly after ordering! There is a vast selection of starter dishes on the menu as well. It’s always exciting to see so many options to choose and try from.

Now it’s time to take a look at the main dishes:

20130502_202614
Beef Prime Rib Burger w/ Yam Fries – $14

20130502_202622
“An 8oz prime rib patty on a rustic bun with mayo, cheddar
cheese, lettuce, tomato and onion and your choice of pomme frites
or yam fries.”

I ordered the Beef Prime Rib Burger with Yam Fries. The burger wasn’t anything special, but it was big and delicious- even the patty was tender and juicy. The yam fries were great; crisped and lightly salted to perfection! It’s also great to see that they don’t charge extra for yam fries (where most other places do). They gave quite a generous amount of fries too. It also comes with a side dip for the fries that was very similar to the calamari dip. Overall good price and value.

I would prefer if they had more burger choices though. Selecting from one burger option is just not enough!

20130502_202649
Beef Prime Rib Burger w/ Pomme Fries – $14

Patrick ordered the same entree as I did except with pomme fries instead of yam fries. If you thought my dish came with a lot of yam fries, well, this came with a lot more. A mountainous heap of pomme fries were provided in complimentary to the burger. It does balance out though, and it would make sense to do this if they don’t charge extra for yam fries, but instead give you more of the regular pomme fries. I like the mentality of how they price their food.

20130502_202628Seafood Tagliatella – $22

20130502_202626“Fresh PEI Mussels, morsels of scallops and prawns tossed in
tagliatelle pasta in an asian inspired pesto cream sauce.”

Karen ordered the Seafood Tagliatella. When I saw this dish, I immediately thought, “Wow it looks just like Chinese Stir-Fried Beef Rice Noodle,” which is also known as 乾炒牛河. To be totally honest, it tasted VERY similar as well. It is an Asian inspired dish though. To non-Chinese food eaters, this may come as a very interesting and delicious dish, but for us…well, it was something we could get for $8 at a Chinese restaurant. It was decent nonetheless.

  20130502_202633
Porcini Mushroom Ravioli – $17

20130502_202642
“Wild porcini mushroom stuffed ravioli in ravioli pasta, basil cream
sauce topped with crispy fried shallots & green onions.”

Angel ordered this delicious pasta and mmm, it was so delicious! The portion was really big too and even the ravioli itself was huge! The pasta was stuffed with mushrooms and cream and biting into it was absolute heaven in my mouth. I am not even exaggerating. I’m not a big fan of mushrooms, in addition to being very picky with them, but this was so good! I highly recommend this dish as well.

I’m looking through Mandalay’s menu again right now. It’s odd how I didn’t notice that they had so many items on the menu the first time I went. I think I might go again soon and try out some other mains. I’ll provide another update if I do go again. If you’re curious to see what else they serve, you can view the full menu here.

Overall, the menu, food/beverage quality, and service was good. It’s a great place to eat, drink, and chat while watching the sunset. Since it’s Autumn now, I recommend going in earlier if you’d like to experience the true Steveston water view.

Yes, the prices are a bit on the higher end, but I say it’s worth it. I probably won’t go too often, but once in a while to treat myself doesn’t sound too bad!

For those who have gone to Mandalay Lounge and Steakhouse before, do you have any recommended dishes I should try the next time I go? I wouldn’t want to miss out on something great. Leave me a comment or tweet me to let me know. Thanks!

xx,
Kerri

Mandalay Lounge & Steakhouse on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

