Stackhouse: A Fantastic Place for Burgers!

I met up with my lovely friend, Cathrine, for lunch couple days ago. While walking down along Granville Street, Cathrine mentioned that she heard the Stackhouse Burger Bar was really good. I’ve never heard of it, but we eventually found it and gave it a try.

wm20130417_135648

They had a menu posted outside, right beside the entrance so you get a nice preview, which, I must say, is something I really appreciate restaurants doing. But I have to admit, their prices were way beyond what I had in mind. The burgers ranged from $14 to $21. However, a complimentary side of fries or salad does come along with your burger.

The restaurant itself is quite small, but the interior is very bright and nicely decorated. The tables and seats are fairly separated, making the restaurant very spacious and comfortable to be in. They have a bar area as well.

The service was good. We were greeted by a cheerful lady once we entered the restaurant, and she brought us a big glass bottle of water and glasses as soon as we sat down. We had a few questions about the food and she was very informative and friendly when explaining. She also came by a couple times to check on us and see how we were doing.

wm20130417_131757

After spending about 10 minutes contemplating what to order…
I decided on the Ahi Tuna Burger, along with a side of mesclun salad; $16.
My friend ordered the Pancetta Burger, along with a side of fries; $14.

Wait time did take awhile – around 20-25 minutes. I can’t really blame their service or chefs, as there was a big table group beside us and almost 10 orders came out all at once for them. Luckily, the food was worth the wait.

wm20130417_131818
“5 oz Ahi tuna steak with miso aioli, watercress and creamy avocado. Topped with fried onions, served on a brioche bun.”

The burger was massive and enticing. I’m not really a fan of tuna, but this ahi tuna steak was just absolutely delicious. My guess is that it’s seared on both sides and served medium rare. And being someone who loves avocados, the generous slices of avocado were just so nice to have. Plus there’s watercress – you can’t go wrong with watercress. The sauce they used really gave the burger the extra “oomph”! The fried onions to top it off was just…well, I really couldn’t ask for more. The flavors of all these ingredients blended so wonderfully well together! Thankfully, I didn’t order the fries, because I probably would not have been able to finish the burger if I had. If you ever decide to eat here, I highly recommend you to try the Ahi Tuna Burger.

wm20130417_131813
“Organic spring mix, edamame and grape tomatoes, served with lavender-infused honey citrus vinaigrette.”

As for the mesclun salad, it’s delicious. The greens were fresh and crisp, and the edamame beans and grape tomatoes really brought the salad to a higher level. The vinaigrette they made was so yummy; a perfect tang of sweetness along with a hint of sourness. The salad is a must-try.

Yes, $16 may seem a bit overpriced from what you’re used to but it’s worth it.

wm20130417_131803
“6.5 oz local prime rib patty with pancetta, Guinness cheddar, chipotle aioli and butter lettuce served on a brioche bun.”

I didn’t try Cathrine’s Pancetta Burger, but it looked really good. The prime rib patty is quite thick and even judging by its appearance you can tell how juicy and tender it is. And if you are concerned about price or if you just want to satisfy your burger craving, I’d recommend going for this.

wm20130417_131808
“Russet potatoes fried and seasoned to perfection with fleur de sel…”

Fries. I think the photo gives it away; lightly salted while being crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

The food is absolutely great. In addition to burgers, Stackhouse serves other great side dishes, sliders, desserts, and drinks. You can view the full menu here.

What else can I say. I absolutely love burgers, and I’ve found a place that makes them marvelously with reasonably healthy ingredients (depending on which you order). I really don’t have any complaints. The ambience, service, and food were all very pleasant. It won’t be my regular go-to place, due to the location and price, but I will definitely go back for more in the near future.

If you’re out and about on a sunny day looking for a good place to eat along Granville Street, Vancouver, I definitely recommend trying out Stackhouse Burger Bar.

Stackhouse Burger Bar on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

